Home  News

Trash & Recycle Can Restriction - Cans Are Only Allowed at the Edge of the Street During Specific Times & Able Disposal Carry Out Service

Thursday, May 27, 2021

After receiving complaints over the years, and in an effort to keep the Village looking neat and the streets clear of trash and recycle cans, the Village of Grand Beach Council has approved a plan that restricts the times that trash and recycle cans can be left at the edge of the street. The times have been changed since the newsletter was sent out recently.

Effective June 1, 2021, trash and recycle cans must not be placed at the edge of the street prior to 11:00 a.m. CST - 12:00 p.m. EST on the day before trash or recycle pickup, and must be removed from the edge of the street no later than 8:00 a.m. CST - 9:00 a.m. EST on the day after pickup.

If the cans are left at the street outside of these limited times, a Village employee will move the cans off of the edge of the street regardless of if they are full or empty. You will be charged $20 on your water bill for this service each time the employee has to move your cans.

Able Disposal offers a service called “Carry Out or Back Door Service” that is billed directly to the customer at $25 per month, billed quarterly. They will take your trash can from outside of your house (as long as it is not inside a fence or enclosure) to the truck, empty the can and return it to the house. This service is also available for the recycle can, and will cost an additional $25 per month, billed quarterly by Able Disposal.

If you are interested in signing up for the Able Disposal service or getting more information about it, please contact them at (219) 929-1150.

Remember, this plan goes into effect on June 1, 2021.