Home  News

Trash Can Removal Update

Monday, June 21, 2021

The Village Council is working out the details on the new trash can removal program. They will be collecting data to see how many people actually need the service to move their cans off the edge of the street and back to their homes.

They are also taking into consideration specific areas where people may not be able to move their cans off the edge of the street due to the topography of the land or if they have no place to move them to.

A Village employee will move the cans back off the street during June and July at no charge for those that are unable to take care of it themselves as the Council continues to work out the details of the program.

The Council asks that you do not place your trash/recycle cans at the edge of the street before 12:00 p.m. EST - 11:00 a.m. CST on the day before pickup and that you remove the cans from the edge of the street no later than 8:00 p.m. EST - 7:00 p.m. CST on the day of pickup.

As we try to gather information to find out exactly how many people need the pullback service from the Village, the Council asks that if you are able to move your cans, that you do so.

Able Disposal does have a service available called "back door service". They will charge you $25 per month for trash and $25 per month for recycle to pull your cans out to the street from their location, empty and return to the location where you keep them. If you rent additional cans from Able, they will move all of the cans at the cost mentioned. If you are interested in this service, please contact their call center at (219) 926-1046 to make arrangements.